Dhaka,  Monday
24 June 2024

3rd phase of Upazila Polls: Voting underway in 87 upazilas

Messenger Online

Published: 12:01, 29 May 2024

3rd phase of Upazila Polls: Voting underway in 87 upazilas

Photo: Collected 

Voting is underway today in 87 upazilas for the third phase of the sixth Upazila Parishad Election.

Voting began on Wednesday (29 May) at 8 am and will continue till 4 pm without any break.

Our correspondent reported that voting was underway in a peaceful environment in Muradnagar, Debidwar, Burichang and Brahmanpara upazilas of the district since this morning.

Though the turnout of voters was thin in the morning, their presence will increase with time, expected candidates and others.

No untoward incidents centring the election were reported till filing this report around 11 am.

A total of 1,196 candidates are in the electoral race for 261 posts of 87 Upazila Parishad.

They include 397 chairman contenders, 456 vice chairman and 299 women (reserved) vice chairman contestants.

Electronic voting machines are being used at 16 upazilas under seven districts, while traditional ballot papers are being used in the rest.

A security team of 17-19 members would guard each polling station in the plain districts, while a security team of 19-21 members would protect a polling station in the Chittagong hill tracts and very remote areas.

The first phase of the polls was held in 139 upazila parishads under 59 districts on May 8, while the second phase was held in 156 upazilas under May 21.

The 4th phase of the election in over 50 upazilas will be held on June 5.