Dhaka,  Sunday
14 July 2024


Six theatre personalities honoured

Artainment Reporter

Published: 08:37, 8 July 2024

Six theatre personalities honoured

Photo : Courtesy

The Loko Natyadal Award 2021-22 ceremony was held at the National Theatre Hall of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy in Dhaka on Saturday. The event, organised by Loko Natyadal, honoured six distinguished theatre personalities for their contributions to Bangladesh's cultural scene.

The recipients of the award were the Dr. Inamul Haq (posthumously), S.M. Mohsin (posthumously), Arham Alo, Shahadat Hossain Khan Hilu, Syed Dulal, and Konkan Das. The award for the late Dr. Inamul Haq was accepted by his wife, theatre personality Lucky Inam.

Khalil Ahmed, Secretary of the Ministry of Cultural Affairs, attended the award ceremony as the chief guest. Noted theatre personality and recipient of the Ekushey Padak and Independence Award, Manchasarathi-famed veteran theatre personality Ataur Rahman, was present as a special guest. Liaquat Ali Lucky, Director of Loko Natyadal, Chairman of Group Theatre Federation, and Director General of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy, presided over the event.

During the discussion session, Khalil Ahmed emphasised the need for increased budget allocation in the cultural sector. Liaquat Ali Lucky stressed the importance of art and culture in building a developed Bangladesh by 2041, as envisioned by the Prime Minister.

The ceremony included cultural performances featuring traditional drum dances, songs from various plays produced by Loko Natyadal, and a dance performance based on Rabindranath Tagore's ‘Birpurush.’ The event concluded with a staging of the play ‘Ekti Sheeter Ratri’ and a group rendition of the song ‘Dhonno Mujib Dhonno, Dhon Dhanno Pushpo Bhora’ by the Bangladesh Shishu Kishore Sangit Dal.