Dhaka,  Saturday
15 June 2024

Palestinian Authority welcomes Norway’s recognition of its statehood


Published: 17:21, 22 May 2024

Palestinian Authority welcomes Norway’s recognition of its statehood

Photo: Collected 

The Palestinian Authority welcomes Norway's recognition of the Palestinian statehood on Wednesday (22 May). Earlier in the day, the Norwegian government announced the country's decision to recognize Palestine as a state.

It was followed by an announcement by Ireland and Spain that they will officially recognize the Palestinian statehood on May 28, the day Norway's decision goes into effect.

"The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Expatriates welcomes the decisions taken by Spain, Norway and Ireland to recognize the State of Palestine. With this significant step, Spain, Norway and Ireland have once again demonstrated their unwavering commitment to the two - State solution ... In the same way, The Ministry calls on all states that have not yet recognized the State of Palestine to take this principled decision," the ministry said in a statement on X.

Shortly after the announcements, Israeli Foreign Minister Israel Katz instructed the immediate recall of Israel’s ambassadors to Ireland, Norway and Spain.

Palestine is currently recognized by nine EU member states. Eight countries — Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Romania and Slovakia — recognized it in 1988, before joining the EU, and Sweden in 2014.