Dhaka,  Monday
24 June 2024

Erdogan accuses UN of failing to stop Gaza bloodshed


Published: 18:50, 29 May 2024

Erdogan accuses UN of failing to stop Gaza bloodshed

Photo: Collected

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan lashed out at the United Nations on Wednesday (29 May) for failing to stop the bloodshed in the southern Gaza city of Rafah, saying the spirit of the UN was dead.

"What use is the UN if you cannot stop a genocide? What use are these buildings if the fate of the world rests in the hands of five countries? The UN cannot even protect its own staff. The spirit of the UN is dead," Erdogan said in parliament.

He drew attention to the fact that that the majority of UN members states recognize Palestine.

"Over three quarters of 193 UN member states recognize the Palestinian state. The joint decision of 147 states cannot be left to the discretion of the five countries; 147 is more than five," Erdogan said.

The Turkish president also accused Islamic countries of inaction, adding that no nation could be safe unless Israel "comes under the control of international law."

"What are you waiting for to make a joint decision? What should be the reaction? Israeli terrorists infiltrate the private lives of Muslims and share photos from their bedrooms. They cut the necks of babies. So when will the Islamic world protect the rights of its Palestinian brothers? Allah will hold them accountable for this," Erdogan said.

He said that Turkey was also under threat, as Israel's "barbarism" is not confined to Gaza.

"Israel, which does not recognize the law and the rules, is a threat to all humanity and world peace. [Adolf] Hitler, followed today by [Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin] Netanyahu, was stopped, albeit belatedly. This barbarism must be stopped immediately by the alliance of humanity before it gets out of control," he added.

On Tuesday, Norway, Ireland and Spain's decisions to recognize Palestine as a state went into effect. Prior to that, Palestine had been recognized by nine EU member states. Eight countries — Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Romania and Slovakia — recognized it in 1988 before joining the European Union, and Sweden in 2014.