Dhaka,  Sunday
21 July 2024

Four Bangladesh-origin British citizens win UK election

Messenger Online

Published: 18:24, 5 July 2024

Four Bangladesh-origin British citizens win UK election

Photo: Collected

Four Bangladesh-origin candidates have been elected as Labour Party lawmakers in the UK parliament. The result was published on the official website of the British Parliament on Friday (05 July), morning.

The four winners are Tulip Rizwana Siddiq, Rushanara Ali, Rupa Huq and Apsana Begum.


Tulip, granddaughter of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, has won by a huge margin in the Hampstead and Highgate constituency. According to the BBC report, Tulip Siddiq was elected from the Hampstead and Highgate constituency as an MP with 23,432 votes. Her nearest rival Don Williams of the Conservative and Unionist Party got just 8,462 votes while Lorna Jane Russell from the Green Party secured the third position bagging 6,630 votes.

Rushanara Ali was elected from Bethnal Green and Stepney, following the General Election which took place on Thursday 4 July 2024. Rushanara Ali of the Labour Party got a total of 15,896 votes, followed by Ajmal Masroor, Independent who received a total of 14,207 votes.

Labour Party candidate Dr Rupa Huq has been re-elected as MP for Ealing Central and Acton. Rupa Huq, first elected as MP in 2015, got 22,340 votes beating Conservative candidate James Windsor-Clive who got 8,345 votes. Alastair Mitton standing for the Liberal Democrats came third with 6,056 votes.

Apsana Begum won from Poplar and Lime House seats by getting 18, 535 votes.

Meanwhile, labour leader Keir Starmer officially became prime minister of the United Kingdom on today. Starmer received the blessing of King Charles III to form a government in a ceremony known as the “kissing of hands.”