Dhaka,  Sunday
21 July 2024

Australia ask India to bat first winning the toss

Messenger Sports

Published: 08:51, 19 November 2023

Update: 08:55, 19 November 2023

Australia ask India to bat first winning the toss

Photo: ESPNcricinfo

Australia won the toss at the ICC World Cup 2023 final on Sunday (19 November) and opted to bowl, sending hosts India to bat first in Ahmedabad.

The final is being held at the Narendra Modi Stadium with a capacity of more than 130,000 people.

This marks the second time Australia and India face each other in a World Cup final. Australia has secured five World Cup victories, while India has won twice to date.

India reached the final by winning all 10 matches in this World Cup, while Australia had a challenging start but recovered to secure wins and qualify for the final.

Australia (Playing XI): Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis(w), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins(c), Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Messenger/Sun Yath