Dhaka,  Sunday
21 July 2024

Rahul Dravid declines extra bonus from BCCI

Messenger Online

Published: 15:55, 11 July 2024

Rahul Dravid declines extra bonus from BCCI

Photo : Collected

India's head coach Rahul Dravid waits at the presentation ceremony after defeating South Africa in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup final cricket match at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados, Saturday, 29 June, 2024.

Former Indian batting legend and head coach of the Indian World Cup-winning cricket team, Rahul Dravid, has declined to accept an extra bonus in recognition of his contributions to India’s recent T20 World Cup victory. Dravid insisted that he could not accept a larger bonus than his colleagues, whose efforts he deemed equal to his own.

Each of India’s coaching staff, including bowling coach Paras Mhambrey, fielding coach T Dilip, and batting coach Vikram Rathore, was awarded 2.5 crore rupees for their contributions to India’s T20 World Cup success. In addition to this amount, Dravid was offered an extra 2.5 crore rupees, which he refused to accept.

Dravid’s act of fairness has garnered widespread praise on social media and among the cricketing community. Former cricketer and politician Navjot Singh Sidhu applauded Dravid with his signature oratory, stating, “The fragrance comes from his character, not a perfume.”

Cricket commentator Harsha Bhogle also praised Dravid on social media, writing, “In a world where 'come-look-at-me' is a disease and paid PR is an acceptable way of life, Rahul Dravid makes humility look cool. It is what we must aspire for in our profession; to achieve greatness and let it rest simply upon us.”

According to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), all members of India’s T20 World Cup 2024 winning squad, including Dravid, were to receive 5 crore rupees each from the 125 crore rupees prize money. The support staff, including the bowling, batting, and fielding coaches, were to receive 2.5 crore rupees each, while the selectors and traveling members of the squad were to receive 1 crore rupees each.